Thursday, April 19, 2018

Review | Hiding Lies (Eleanor Ames #2) by Julie Cross

Hiding Lies (Eleanor Ames #2) by Julie Cross
on April 17th 2018
Genres: Thriller, Young Adult
Amazon
Goodreads

Fans of Veronica Mars or Ally Carter will love the snarky, whip-smart former con artist Eleanor, in this sequel to Chasing Truth.

At Holden Prep, dirty little secrets always have a way of coming to the surface.

Eleanor Ames has never been what she seems. Average high school student on the outside, but reformed con artist trying to break free of her past on the inside. When Eleanor receives startling news about someone from her previous criminal life, plans for a new operation coinciding with her school’s upcoming field trip quickly consume her.

But operations rarely go according to plan. And this is one her irresistible teen FBI agent boyfriend, Miles, would never approve of.

Now, more than just Ellie’s reputation is at stake. If she fails, it could be her life.


Chasing Truth (Eleanor Ames, #1):

When former con artist Eleanor Ames’s homecoming date commits suicide, she’s positive there’s something more going on. The more questions she asks, though, the more she crosses paths with Miles Beckett. He’s sexy, mysterious, arrogant…and he’s asking all the same questions.

Eleanor might not trust him – she doesn’t even like him – but they can’t keep their hands off of each other. Fighting the infuriating attraction is almost as hard as ignoring the fact that Miles isn’t telling her the truth…and that there’s a good chance he could be the killer.

Buy links

Here is my review of Chasing Truth (Eleanor Ames #1)

 


 

Excerpt from Hiding Lies:

My feet have been dangling. I start to lift them up, attempting to conceal myself. But I’m not fast enough. Warm fingers wrap around my ankle.

“Got you,” the guy says. “How long have you been up there spying on me?”

“Spying? On you?” I shake my head. “Don’t know what you’re talking about. I’m waiting for someone. He’ll be here any second.”

The hot guy takes the binoculars and looks them over, analyzing the zoom-in and recording switches hidden on the underside. “Fancy. Not exactly for recreational use.”

That’s because they’re Aidan’s. My sister’s boyfriend. Up until two weeks ago, when he was forced to resign, Aidan was a Secret Service agent. He used all kinds of spy gear in his former job—like these high-tech night-vision binoculars.

I hop down from the tree, assessing the intruder, searching for body language that says friend or enemy, even though I already know the answer. No harm in having a little extra practice. Role-play is definitely a skill of mine, but it’s also a muscle that must be worked regularly. “Just so you know, I am trained in self-defense. Wouldn’t try anything if I were you.”

“Yeah?” He lifts an eyebrow. “That’s good because this place is sketchy as hell.”

We both glance around the deserted warehouse building beside us, the vandalized lumberyard nearby, and the questionable items strewn across the walkway leading to the giant warehouse door—condom wrappers, broken beer bottles, cigarette butts.

“You’re right, it’s sketchy,” I say. “I better take off before something bad happens.”

“Wait…” Hot Guy reaches for me, his fingers curling around my waist. He tugs me until my back rests against the tree and we’re hidden from anyone on the street. “Tell me about this other guy you’re waiting on.”

I stare up at him, taking in the cocky smirk, perfectly messy dark hair, and blue eyes that hold dozens of secrets. “What other guy?”

He grins, showing off two perfect dimples to go with the rest of his perfects. “Good answer.”

Then, before I can refocus on the role I’ve been playing, he leans down and kisses me. It’s only been a week but feels like a month. Maybe longer. His cheeks are cold, but his lips are warm and tender. I bring him closer and closer until his slinged arm is lodged between us.

“Miles,” I mumble against his lips.

“Uh-huh.”

“Miles,” I repeat, too caught up in this kiss to celebrate the slip he just made. “That’s his name. The guy I’m waiting on.”

“Miles. Sounds like an asshole. Forget him.” He pulls away just enough to see my face. His good hand rests against my cheek. He looks like he’s about to dive into kissing me again but hesitates. “It’s really cold out here.”

“And sketchy,” I add. “Why would you pick a place like this? You can’t coast forever on the whole mysterious-hot-guy persona. So if that’s your plan, I’d rather meet at the Y or Planet Fitness like a normal person.”

He rolls his eyes. “Yes, that’s my goal in life. Devote all my time to training to be a spy so I can impress girls.”


After reading the first in the series back in 2016, I was anxiously awaiting the release of this sequel and while it may have been a long wait, it was most definitely worth it. I felt as if I were picking right back up with an old friend I hadn’t seen in awhile. It felt so good to be reunited with Ellie and Miles, as well as the secondary characters.

I wouldn’t be lying if I said that I had no idea where this story would take us. The mystery/thriller aspects of this series continues to get better and better. I can’t even begin to imagine what the writing process for Julie must be like, especially when it comes to this type of book and all of the twists and turns she takes her readers on – keeping our heads spinning and the guesses coming.

I’m usually one that can figure things out rather quickly, but that is not the case when it comes to the situations that Ellie (and Miles) seem to find themselves in. That’s the thrill of it all though! I mean, what would the fun be in picking up a book, getting a few pages in and figuring it all out right then and there. I don’t know about you, but I like to be kept guessing and left shocked at every twist and turn that jumps off the page.

In Hiding Lies, we finally get to meet Ellie’s con-artist dad, as well as a few other “family members”. For me, it was an interesting dynamic to see Ellie reunited with the one person she was trying to help the FBI catch to begin with. Working alongside her dad and trying to right a few wrongs from her past. She finds herself being caught up in an even stickier situation that she could have imagined. Questioning herself and others around her. Who can she trust? Who should she trust? It’s a juggling act for even the most skilled of con-artists.

For someone who is (somewhat) well past her own young-adult years, this is one series you won’t find me turning my back on anything soon. Heck, you won’t even find me turning my back on Julie Cross. If you know me or have followed this blog long enough, you’ve got to know how big of a fan I am of Julie’s.
*And personally, you’re never too old to read YA. 😉

I can’t sing enough praises about this series. As for someone who doesn’t read very much mystery/thriller to begin with, this is a series that will keep you on your toes and anxious for more. The characters are dynamic and the storyline is so well thought out.

And with the ending we were left with in Hiding Lies, you better believe I am going to be anxiously waiting for the next….

five stars 


About Julie Cross:
Julie Cross is a NYT and USA Today bestselling author of New Adult and Young Adult fiction, including the Tempest series, a young adult science fiction trilogy which includes Tempest, Vortex, Timestorm (St. Martin’s Press). She’s also the author of Letters to Nowhere series, Whatever Life Throws at You, Third Degree, Halfway Perfect, Chasing Truth, Off the Ice and many more to come! Julie Cross was a longtime resident of central Illinois but has recently moved her entire family across the country to continue her academic studies at Stanford University.

Website

Twitter

Facebook

Goodreads


 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Leave a Comment

CommentLuv badge