Friday, December 5, 2014

[After Dark] Review | Owning Violet by Monica Murphy

[After Dark] Review | Owning Violet by Monica Murphy" class="ubb-image alignleft">Owning Violet by Monica Murphy
Published by Bantam on December 2, 2014
Genres: Adult Fiction, Contemporary, Romance
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley
Goodreads

New York Times bestselling author Monica Murphy begins a sexy new contemporary romance series—perfect for fans of Christina Lauren and Emma Chase—that introduces three sisters born to wealth, raised to succeed, ready to love, destined to make waves.

I’ve moved through life doing what’s expected of me. I’m the middle daughter, the dutiful daughter. The one who braved a vicious attack and survived. The one who devoted herself to her family’s business empire. The one who met an ambitious man and fell in love. We were going to run Fleur Cosmetics together, Zachary and I.

Until he got a promotion and left me in the dust. Maybe it’s for the best, between his disloyalty and his wandering eye. But another man was waiting for me. Wanting me. He too has an overwhelming thirst for success, just like Zachary—perhaps even more so. He’s also ruthless. And mysterious. I know nothing about Ryder McKay beyond that he makes me feel things I’ve never felt before.

One stolen moment, a kiss, a touch . . . and I’m hooked. Ryder’s like a powerful drug, and I’m an addict who doesn’t want to be cured. He tells me his intentions aren’t pure, and I believe him. For once, I don’t care. I’m willing to risk everything just to be with him. Including my heart. My soul.

My everything.


 

Thank you to the publisher for providing me with a digital copy in exchange for an honest review. 

whatithought[blog]

 Owning Violet is the first book that I’ve read by author, Monica Murphy. And after reading it, I am interested in reading more from her. Owning Violet has been one of the most steamy, sexy, and angst filled books that I’ve read this year. I say steamy and sexy because of the [very] descriptive scenes between Ryder and Violet and angst filled because of all the deception and game playing going on in the story.

I thoroughly enjoy books that have multiple character POVs, especially when they alternate between two [or more] characters. It’s refreshing to see the story from the eyes of two very different, yet similar in their own unique ways, people such as Ryder and Violet.

I admired Violet for her independence and strength. It’s evident in the story that she has already overcome so much at such a young age. There were some details of her past that were touched on that I felt could have been elaborated on & I was expecting something to come out of them as well. Yes, I am being vague, but I don’t want to spoil the story from those who will be reading it.

Ryder was everything, yet nothing that I expected. In the beginning, he really pissed me off (Not as much as Zachary though). I was happy to see his development through the story and I eventually started to like him. To me, he can be described as perfect in an imperfect way. I was surprised by the relationship between him and Violet and thankful to see him get rid of that awful Pilar. The way Violet was able to break down the walls that Ryder had build and was determined to keep around him. He also gave Violet her backbone back. They helped each other, but also hurt one another. However, they were able to overcome so much while bringing on the steam and the romance throughout.

While this isn’t my typical reading choice, I’d be interested to see how Murphy goes about telling the story of the other Fowler sisters. I’d hope that in the next installment, there will be a glimpse of Ryder and Violet.

Overall, I give this 3.5 stars.

Happy reading.

heathersignature

 

Leave a Comment

CommentLuv badge