Friday, August 1, 2014

Review | The Murder Complex by Lindsay Cummings

Review | The Murder Complex by Lindsay Cummings" class="ubb-image alignleft">The Murder Complex by Lindsay Cummings
Published by HarperTeen on June 10, 2014
Genres: Dystopian, Science Fiction, Young Adult
Goodreads

An action-packed, blood-soaked, futuristic debut thriller set in a world where the murder rate is higher than the birthrate. For fans of Moira Young’s Dust Lands series, La Femme Nikita, and the movie Hanna.

Meadow Woodson, a fifteen-year-old girl who has been trained by her father to fight, to kill, and to survive in any situation, lives with her family on a houseboat in Florida. The state is controlled by The Murder Complex, an organization that tracks the population with precision. The plot starts to thicken when Meadow meets Zephyr James, who is—although he doesn’t know it—one of the MC’s programmed assassins. Is their meeting a coincidence? Destiny? Or part of a terrifying strategy? And will Zephyr keep Meadow from discovering the haunting truth about her family?

Action-packed, blood-soaked, and chilling, this is a dark and compelling debut novel by Lindsay Cummings.

My thoughts. . . 

 For me, The Murder Complex was outside of my comfort zone. It was hard to resist though. Ever since I first heard about it, there was something pulling me towards it and telling me to give it a go. Sure, I’ve read dystopian, science fiction, and a few thrillers, but this one was unique in its own way. This dystopian kept me on the edge of my seat and anxious for what was to come. I was never bored when reading The Murder Complex. 

The entire concept behind The Murder Complex? Holy smokes! I almost couldn’t wrap my head around it. I was so astounded by how unique this was & couldn’t help but think to myself, “how did Lindsay come up with this?!” The world in which this took place was so detailed and allowed me the visual imagery I love when reading a good book. It’s so amazing when you can visualize the characters running through the streets, see the fear and determination etched on their faces, and almost hear the sounds described on the pages. 

Another aspect I’ve enjoyed a lot over the past couple months, is story switching between the perspectives of Meadow, a girl trained to survive, and Zephyr, a boy programed to kill. I feel like this really added to the story and allowed for the reader to truly understand, or begin to understand the story, from each character’s view point. Meadow has got to be one of the toughest female characters I’ve ever read. She had this attitude about her that made even me, the reader, somewhat terrified of her. She’s definitely one you don’t want to piss off. However, every now and then, you’d catch a glimpse of her softer side. That’s a side I’d like to see a little more of. It allowed her to be vulnerable and allowed the reader to see a different side of her, even if it were only for a moment. Then there is Zephry. He’s a young man with a soft spot and a nasty secret that even he can’t explain. At first I wasn’t sure if I was going to like him, but there’s just something about him that draws me towards him. I’m curious about him, just like Meadow. 

Of course, this book left me with more unanswered questions than I had when I first started it! But I suppose that happens when starting a new series. 🙂 This is most definitely a series I will be following. I mean, you can’t just leave me hanging like that! I am anxious and excited to continue on this action packed, roller coaster ride of a series & I hope it’s a ride you’ll join me on. 

Have you read this one yet? 

I give this book FOUR out of FIVE stars.

Happy reading!

Heather

Leave a Comment

CommentLuv badge