Wednesday, February 28, 2018

Review | Breaking the Ice (Juniper Falls #2) by Julie Cross

Breaking the Ice (Juniper Falls, #2) by Julie Cross
on December 26th 2017

The second book in the Juniper Falls series from NY Times and USA TODAY bestselling author Julie Cross, perfect for fans of Miranda Kenneally and Abbi Glines.

Haley Stevenson seems like she’s got it all together: cheer captain, “Princess” of Juniper Falls, and voted Most Likely to Get Things Done. But below the surface, she’s struggling with a less-than-stellar GPA and still reeling from the loss of her first love. Repeating her Civics class during summer school is her chance to Get Things Done, not angst over boys. In fact, she’s sworn them off completely until college.

Fletcher Scott is happy to keep a low profile around Juniper Falls. He’s always been the invisible guy, warming the bench on the hockey team and moonlighting at a job that would make his grandma blush. Suddenly, though, he’s finding he wants more: more time on the ice, and more time with his infuriatingly perfect summer-school study partner.

But leave it to a girl who requires perfection to shake up a boy who’s ready to break all the rules.

I’ve been a fan of Julie Cross for years now. Such a fan that I even sent her an email way back when, letting her know how much I loved her writing and her ability to make me feel as if I’m living the story right along side the characters. Fangirl moment happened when she responded. Thanks, Julie. 🙂 Anyways..she never disappoints. In fact, I look forward to when a new book of hers comes out and make it one of my top priorities to read.
(She even has her own shelf on my bookcase. Which reminds me, I think I need to move her books to a bigger shelf space to make room.)

Breaking the Ice is the second book in the Juniper Falls series and introduces us/allows us to get to know more people in the town of Juniper Falls. With this being the second in this series, I felt almost as if I were returning home after a long vacation when I began reading. That’s a feeling all avid readers love to experience, am I right? It didn’t disappoint and I already am left with anticipation for more of this town and the people who call it home.

We first met Haley in Off the Ice, the first in the series. She’s the most popular girl in school, cheer captain, and former girlfriend of Tate. (You’ll need to go back and read Off the Ice to get the scoop on that one.) While in summer school, she finds herself crossing paths with Fletcher. He’s smart, but a bit on the mysterious side, which captures the attention of Haley and leaves her curious to figure out just what exactly his story is. Of course, she ends up learning a lot about herself in the process too – all thanks to Fletcher.

The chemistry between Fletcher and Haley is like a game of tug of war. Both of them trying to figure out each others feelings, while pushing aside their own. Nothing was what I expected it to be when it came to the journey these two go on from start to finish. It was refreshing not being able to figure it out from the start because of all the little surprises that Cross planted throughout the story line. I also like that having read the previous book, I was given a bit of closure (as was Haley) when it came to the outcome of her relationship with Tate.

I’m already anxious to know who the next in the serious will be about and to get to know other characters on a deeper level, all while revisiting some old friends.


four stars

Leave a Comment

CommentLuv badge