Monday, August 24, 2015

Review | Between Us and the Moon by Rebecca Maizel

Review | Between Us and the Moon by Rebecca Maizel" class="ubb-image alignleft">Between Us and the Moon by Rebecca Maizel
Published by HarperCollins on June 30th 2015
Goodreads

A luminous YA love story that evokes Judy Blume's Forever for a new generation.
Sarah—Bean to her friends and family—is an aspiring astronomer and champion mathlete. She lives behind her beloved telescope, with her head in the stars and her feet planted firmly on the ground. For as long as she can remember, she's also lived in the shadow of her beautiful older sister, Scarlett.
But after a traumatic end to the school year, Sarah goes to Cape Cod for the summer with her family, determined to grow up. It's there that she meets gorgeous, older college boy Andrew. He sees her as the girl she wants to be. A girl like Scarlett. He thinks she's older, too—and she doesn't correct him.
For Sarah, it's a summer of firsts. Before she knows what's happened, one little lie has transformed into something real. And by the end of August, she might have to choose between falling in love, and finding herself.
Fans of Jenny Han and Stephanie Perkins are destined to fall for this romantic and heartfelt coming-of-age novel about how life and love are impossible to predict.

whatithought[blog]

 

I’ve been a fan of Rebecca Maizel’s books ever since Christie told me about Infinite Days. After finishing that trilogy, I was thrilled to know that Rebecca had a contemporary book coming out this summer. And I was even more thrilled when a dear friend loaned me her ARC.

Between Us and the Moon is a book that may rub people in the wrong way, especially with the circumstances that take place. For me, while I was uncomfortable at times, this did not sway my overall feelings for the book. In fact, it made me want to keep reading because I just had to know how everything played out in the end. It certainly had my attention and I found myself finishing it in the wee hours of the morning over the summer because I just needed to know how it ended. It was also the type of book that left me texting my friend who read it before me because I had so many feeling I needed to process.

I’m getting ahead of myself…let’s go back a bit…

Sarah, aka Bean, has always been one to stay in the shadows. She finds comfort in her studies and gets lost in the stars. She’s had exactly one relationship in her life and that’s was with her childhood best friend turned boyfriend. However, when that relationship ends just at the start of summer, Bean finds herself lost and unsure of who she is exactly. Like every year, her family spends the summer months at her great Aunt’s house on Cape Cod. But unlike every summer, Bean decides to step outside the shadow and try living life a little bit more like her older sister.

Upon meeting a college-aged boy, Bean decides to try something out, an experiment if you will. After telling on “tiny” lie about her age, Bean finds herself getting swept up in the developing friendship/romance with this boy. But of course, after telling one lie, she must then tell another, and another, until she finds herself swimming in an ocean of lies and struggling to make it to the top.

I was so upset with Bean for telling all of these lies just to gain the attention of Andrew. It broke my heart because honestly, I really liked Andrew. He’s been through a lot in his life and I didn’t think he deserved to be fed lie after lie. I so wish she would have come clean after the first lie, but of course, she may not have learned the valuable lessons that she ended up gaining in the end. Still…it would have saved her and Andrew, especially, a lot of heartbreak and struggle in the end.

Of course the fallout was difficult to see play out, but I knew it was bound to happen. My only real complaint is that I wish there would have been more of Bean having to live with the consequences of her lies. Instead, that part is skipped over and we are shown a glimpse of Bean back at the Cape one year later and finally living life how she should have all along. It was a nice ending and one that left me glad to see that Bean learned her lessons.

This books is one that will definitely have people sharing various opinions, but overall, I enjoyed it and the lessons that can be taken from it. I certainly hope this isn’t the last contemporary book Maizel writes because her writing has always been something I’ve enjoyed getting lost in.

Four out of five stars 

heathersignature

 

 

 

 

Leave a Comment

CommentLuv badge