Tuesday, November 5, 2013

Review | RELIC by Heather Terrell

Review | RELIC by Heather Terrell" class="ubb-image alignleft">RELIC by Heather Terrell
Series: The Books of Eva #1
Published by Soho Teen on October 29, 2013
Genres: Fantasy, Science Fiction, Young Adult
Format: eBook
Amazon|B&N
Goodreads

The truth will test you... For fans of Game of Thrones and The Hunger Games: high fantasy and dystopia meet in this high-stakes tale of a civilization built on lies and the girl who single-handedly brings it down.

When Eva’s twin brother, Eamon, falls to his death just a few months before he is due to participate in The Testing, no one expects Eva to take his place. She’s a Maiden, slated for embroidery classes, curtseys, and soon a prestigious marriage befitting the daughter of an Aerie ruler. But Eva insists on honoring her brother by becoming a Testor. After all, she wouldn’t be the first Maiden to Test, just the first in 150 years. Eva knows the Testing is no dance class. Gallant Testors train for their entire lives to search icy wastelands for Relics: artifacts of the corrupt civilization that existed before The Healing drowned the world. Out in the Boundary Lands, Eva must rely on every moment of the lightning-quick training she received from Lukas—her servant, a Boundary native, and her closest friend now that Eamon is gone. But there are threats in The Testing beyond what Lukas could have prepared her for. And no one could have imagined the danger Eva unleashes when she discovers a Relic that shakes the Aerie to its core.

Get the FREE prequel, CHRONICLE HERE

And you can see who Heather Terrell would cast as Eva in a movie adaptation of RELIC HERE! 

PicMonkey Collage

 

RELIC is compared to Game of Thrones and The Hunger Games. While I have read Game of Thrones, I could definitely see how it is compared to The Hunger Games. The days of technology, also known as the PreHealing times, as long gone and the reader is transported to a world where the chief Archon rules for 10 years and then a Testing is held to select the next. While reading, you will come across a different vocabulary, but not one that is difficult to follow. It is during a time where women are Maidens and not expected to compete, but after Eva’s twin brother dies before the next Testing, Eva has a reason to enter and compete in his place.
She prepares just like the others, granted not with the same amount of time, but being the only female to compete in the Testing for the first time in years, she proves herself to be strong and just as capable of overcoming the grueling Testing.
RELIC combines elements of survival with that of a dystopian. It’s an interesting read that keeps you engrossed in the story every step of the way. As the story goes on, Eva begins to realize that the world in which she lives may not be all she thought it to be. Eve is a heroine to admire. She demonstrates strength, courage, and determination throughout the book. And of course, there is a love triangle between Eva, Jasper, and Lukas, but it doesn’t take over the story and could almost be described as a side story. I like that it doesn’t take away from the action and adventure that the Testing contains.
As the first book in The Books of Eva series, RELIC sets up an interesting story and one that I am curious to read more about. It takes place in the frozen and dangerous Arctic, which is an entirely new setting for me as a reader. I am looking forward to continuing this series and finding out answers to some very important questions. You’ll have to read to find out what I mean… 😉 

4.5 out of 5 stars! 

Happy reading!
H banner

2 Responses to “Review | RELIC by Heather Terrell”

Leave a Comment

CommentLuv badge