Friday, November 29, 2013

ARC Review | Maybe One Day by Melissa Kantor

ARC Review | Maybe One Day by Melissa Kantor" class="ubb-image alignleft">Maybe One Day by Melissa Kantor
Published by HarperTeen on February 18, 2014
Genres: Contemporary, Young Adult
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss
Goodreads

Critically acclaimed author Melissa Kantor masterfully captures the joy of friendship, the agony of loss, and the unique experience of being a teenager in this poignant new novel about a girl grappling with her best friend's life-threatening illness.

Zoe and her best friend, Olivia, have always had big plans for the future, none of which included Olivia getting sick. Still, Zoe is determined to put on a brave face and be positive for her friend.

Even when she isn't sure what to say.

Even when Olivia misses months of school.

Even when Zoe starts falling for Calvin, Olivia's crush.

The one thing that keeps Zoe moving forward is knowing that Olivia will beat this, and everything will go back to the way it was before. It has to. Because the alternative is too terrifying for her to even imagine.

In this incandescent page-turner, which follows in the tradition of The Fault in Our Stars, Melissa Kantor artfully explores the idea that the worst thing to happen to you might not be something that is actually happening to you. Raw, irreverent, and honest, Zoe's unforgettable voice and story will stay with readers long after the last page is turned.

I received a copy from the publishers via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. 

PicMonkey Collage

 Maybe One Day is a book that will pull on your heartstrings and leave you curling up with a box of tissues. It is most definitely a read that gives you all the feels. For those who really know me, may not be surprised that I cried while reading this book, especially since I am one of the most emotional people on the planet. However, I lost myself in this book and found myself really connecting to several of the characters in it. I cried when they cried, I laughed when they laughed, I felt joy, hurt, and numbness along side of them. It takes a lot for me to really lose myself in a book the way I lost myself in this one, but the writing and the story line produced by Melissa Kantor gripped me heart and soul.

Maybe One Day is an incredibly moving story and one that is written beautifully. I adored the main characters and the differences and similarities that brought them so close together. This book left me thinking about my own best friends and how I would be affected if I were put in Zoe or Olivia’s situation.

I feel that the way this topic was approached by the author was incredibly real and honest. I admire the depths she took to make this story come to life and to make me, a reader, feel extremely humbled and moved as I read it.

It’s been awhile since I’ve read a book that focuses primarily on friendship, but this is one that I couldn’t pass up. Maybe One Day left me feeling extremely thankful for the friendships I have in my life and reminded me not to take those friendships for granted.

I highly recommend this book and I cannot wait for it to be released early next year. I will certainly be adding it to my bookshelf the day of its release. I can also guarantee that I will not be left with a dry eye whenever I reread it.

An incredibly well deserved 5 out of 5 stars. 

Happy reading.
H banner

One Response to “ARC Review | Maybe One Day by Melissa Kantor”

Leave a Comment

CommentLuv badge