Saturday, October 26, 2013

Guest Post | Heather Terrell author of RELIC

Turning Pages welcomes Heather Terrell, author of the first book in a new YA fantasy series
-The Books of Eva.

The first book in the series is RELIC.

You can get the free prequel, CHRONICLE – here.

 

Relic

The truth will test you...
For fans of Game of Thrones and The Hunger Games: high fantasy and dystopia meet in this high-stakes tale of a civilization built on lies and the girl who single-handedly brings it down.
When Eva’s twin brother, Eamon, falls to his death just a few months before he is due to participate in TheTesting, no one expects Eva to take his place. She’s a Maiden, slated for embroidery classes, curtseys, and soon a prestigious marriage befitting the daughter of an Aerie ruler. But Eva insists on honoring her brother by becoming a Testor. After all, she wouldn’t be the first Maiden to Test, just the first in 150 years.
Eva knows the Testing is no dance class. Gallant Testors train for their entire lives to search icy wastelands for Relics: artifacts of the corrupt civilization that existed before The Healing drowned the world. Out in the Boundary Lands, Eva must rely on every moment of the lightning-quick training she received from Lukas—her servant, a Boundary native, and her closest friend now that Eamon is gone.
But there are threats in The Testing beyond what Lukas could have prepared her for. And no one could have imagined the danger Eva unleashes when she discovers a Relic that shakes the Aerie to its core.

Guest Post | Who would Heather cast as her heroine, Eva?

The question of who I would cast for Eva is a difficult one (and a terrific problem!). In my mind, I have such a clear picture of Eva, with her long auburn hair and green-blue eyes, and no one actress today captures that precise image. Not to mention that the challenges in RELIC force Eva to assume so many roles at once — demure medieval Maiden, determined Tester, and grieving sister — that any actress that I would cast for Eva must be capable of playing a huge range of roles, as well as be able to display a physical tenacity for the climbing and excavating scenes as Testor. Certainly the talented young actresses Hailie Steinfeld and Chloe Grace Moretz seem capable of enormous acting scope — a quick comparison of Chloe’s characters in Hugo and 30 Rock alone confirm this — and would be wonderful Evas. All that said, Saoirse Ronon would be my dream choice. She has fantastic range and wonderful skills, and I find it nearly impossible to erase from my mind Saoirse in the movie Hanna, the opening scenes in particular. There, Saoirse ran, climbed, hunted, and fought, against the icy backdrop of northern Finland not unlike the arctic island icescapes of RELIC.

Saoirse Ronan PrettyHanna - Saoirse Ronan

Get to know the author, Heather Terrell!

Facebook  Website

Thank you so much for stopping by Turning Pages, Heather! 

Happy reading.

C&H banner


							

Leave a Comment

CommentLuv badge